Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Information Security

Information security can mean protecting information and information systems from unauthorized access, use, disclosure, disruption, modification or destruction. This goes beyond just computers and networks. Risks and threats can come from individuals, acts of nature, and new technology.

This topic affects everyone in the federal workforce - top to bottom. Thus, it is also the responsibility of everyone in the federal workforce to protect the information from threats.

Share your experience with securing information.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
jhs93  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 6, 2015 8:57:10 AM(UTC)
jhs93

Groups: Registered

Hello. Not sure if anyone has insights as to how security folks deal with classified docs popping up on the internet. I'm an consultant with a small company, and I was working on a company brochure from home recently on my personal computer. In doing some internet searches, I opened up a classified document just posted there online. I didn't download it and immediately called my boss and company security rep to notify them. They reported the incident to DSS, who called me and I provided them the URL or the incident report they had to write up. After, nothing further heard.

Details. Was working on a company paper (not associated or working on any contract) from my personal computer. Didn't download the document and didn't read it. I'm not currently indoc'd (waiting to get an appt for indoc to TOP SECRET), but was indoc'd for another job about two months ago and have an up-to-date clearance (though, obviously, no access right this second). I provided all these details to DSS.