Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Financial Discussion

It is always wise to have a secure financial foundation. Here is a place to ask questions, exchange ideas and share information on how to make the most of your money.

To read today's top news stories on federal employee related news visit FederalDaily.com.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
The HalfBreed  
#1 Posted : Saturday, July 18, 2009 9:36:02 AM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 34 time(s) in 28 post(s)
Did you REALLY loose???

I went back over my records (W-2 Forms) this afternoon, and I've been investing in the TSP since 1992. Not much mind you, just 2-8 thousand a year, until about 2005, when I started maxing out almost. With all of the gains and losses, I'm still up over 60% of what I've actually put in. So, with those thoughts in mind, I guess this last bear market wasnt' all "THAT" Bad.
I'm CSRS, with no matching contributions BTW.

Rule of 72, or whatever, I guess it could have been worse. Which brings me to my point of conversation........if you haven't lost "ANY" of your money, is it really a loss ??? I understand that, you never really 'loose' anything until you cash out.
#2 Posted : Saturday, July 18, 2009 11:02:56 AM(UTC)

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Federal & State income taxes that will have to be paid on this money when you withdraw it are a factor that will reduce your return on investment.
MaleMan  
#3 Posted : Saturday, July 18, 2009 5:59:47 PM(UTC)

The HalfBreed,

Well, that is an interesting point you bring up. I guess if folks are going to follow their "train of thought" if they say they really don't lose anything until it is sold. Well, I guess you would have to say you didn't really make anything until it is sold either.