Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Security Clearance

A security clearance is a status granted to individuals allowing them access to classified information. Those trying to get a clearance may have questions such as how does one go about attaining a clearance? And, what are the different levels? As well as other questions. This area will allow those that have clearances offer advice and suggestions to those inquiring about clearances or upgrading their clearances.

To read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues visit FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
baronzb  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 10, 2017 8:43:17 AM(UTC)
baronzb

Groups: Registered

I'm a relatively new grad and thinking of applying for a fed contracting job, eventually direct hire. I don't know if the contract background check (Public Trust only), which i plan to leave off the termination (HR has an official rehire and resign), will be a problem five years later, when i plan to reapply to the fed gov (SF85p has a limit of five years of history that they check, correct?). I am a mid-level health professional that would only require an SF85 or SF85p. I was thinking DoD, but that appears to require a security clearance, which would uncover the boss threatening to push me out at one job--hence the resign.

Should I just wait for five years to let the 'termination' at the private company fall off, so I don't have to report it? Additionally, how are old fed background checks used for future fed applicants and their background checks (in relation to the contract job)? TIme is of the essence, as I am an older grad without a family. Thank you.
misho09  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 10, 2017 9:27:56 AM(UTC)
misho09

United States