Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Workers' Compensation

The Office of Workers' Compensation Programs administers four major disability compensation programs which provide wage replacement benefits, medical treatment, vocational rehabilitation and other benefits to certain workers or their dependents who experience work-related injury or occupational disease.

Here is a forum for members to share and exchange experiences regarding to workers' compensation related issues.

To read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues visit FederalDaily.com.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
sugarplum  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 5, 2020 3:37:45 PM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

So,I work part time in a school district and receive partial OWCP. Due to COVID schools are closed and have been since March 16.
I have not applied for my state's unemployment yet, as I am getting by on OWCP, and just don't want to jump thru hoops. I also received the $1200 stimulus payment.

Any opinions on the pros and cons of applying for an unemployment benefit as an OWCP recipient?

Thanks.
Prevail in good cheer!
Polar Bear  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 5, 2020 3:46:43 PM(UTC)
Polar Bear

United States

Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 13 post(s)
If you qualify (I have no idea if you do), but if you do you're eligible for the 600 extra a week from the federal govt. It's done through your state and you have to be eligible for state UI and collect at least one dollar per week based on your state's rules if you are only partially unemployed. I tried telling my mom this because she still qualifies for partial UI due to a decrease of work hours in what is effectively a second job, but she has never filed for UI before and won't do it.

(BTW, this is why some people are angry about 'being essential')
thanks 1 user thanked Polar Bear for this useful post.
sugarplum on 5/7/2020(UTC)