Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Office of Personnel Management

OPM is responsible for several broad categories such as employee recruitment and retention and oversees the overall federal workforce including managing, job announcement postings at USAJOBS.gov and setting governmentwide policies on hiring procedures.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
cbqueen  
#1 Posted : Friday, April 9, 2021 10:56:09 AM(UTC)
cbqueen

Groups: Registered
United States

I got an opportunity for a schedule c job at an agency that recently just confirmed their cabinet secretary.

I am originally from Miami and mainly worked for non-profits. I recently moved to DC for another non-profit role, got laid off, and got a call about this opportunity.

I am familiar with the USAJOBS process as I’ve sent over 100+ applications but I am completely new to this schedule c/appointee process and the internet really doesn’t offer much when it comes to this question. All I find is the plum book description(which also was very new to me).

The process seems a bit vague and I don’t understand why. I’m anal when it comes to these things as I like full transparency when it comes to roles I’m being considered for so I don’t make any mistakes that may hinder my candidacy. I’m also confused as to why the process is so different compared to USAJOBS (which is very thorough).

The SES person who would potentially be my boss informed me that they passed my resume onto the personnel team and that the process has been incredibly slow– I'm not sure what happens next or how normally these resumes are handled.

While I understand and empathize with the slow pace, I am feeling frustrated with the lack of information as I have been unemployed and my finances are beginning to dwindle.

If anyone could offer any insight that would be great. Thanks in advance.
10years2retire  
#2 Posted : Friday, April 9, 2021 3:04:10 PM(UTC)
10years2retire

United States