Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Retirees

For those approaching retirement as well as the currently already retired, here is a forum to share ideas and thoughts and exchange questions and answers.

To read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues visit FederalDaily.com.

To maximize your retirement, we also suggest you read "Retired Federal Employees Almanac".

(Reminder: soliciting of services is not allowed on this site.)

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
rmodica60  
#1 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2008 3:10:34 AM(UTC)
rmodica60

Groups: Registered

I am a retired civil service employee with 27years. I want to go to work for the Census Brueau part time, am I eligable to work without any penalty?
oneball  
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 01, 2009 9:43:04 PM(UTC)
oneball

I'm not an expert on the subject but my wife used to work there. I believe the answer is you can work on the 2010 census (or 2020) but not on their "normal" daily operations. For those that don't know, census is interviewing on dozens of surveys every day. The one every 10 years is just the biggest and most famous.
edalder  
#3 Posted : Friday, January 02, 2009 12:22:50 AM(UTC)
edalder

OPM granted a waiver that allowed Federal retirees to work on that Census without docking annuities.

I would imagine that a similar waiver will be available for the 2010 Census. If you apply and are selected, ask about this one.

Please note that these particular jobs are temporary, seldom lasting longer than 180 days. Many of them probably will only last 12 to 16 weeks. Many of the jobs involve visiting the households and addresses that did not return the written Census form that the Census Bureau mails out.
Kivi
Salty  
#4 Posted : Saturday, January 10, 2009 8:49:59 PM(UTC)
Salty