Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

General Conversations

Within this forum, you can:

• share experiences as a federal employee
  • ask for some general help from fellow federal employees
  • offer helpful advice
  • make this world a better place (doesn't hurt to try)

Please keep in mind that this is not an opportunity to "step up on a soap box." Let's keep things clean, polite and useful. Thanks for your cooperation.

To read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues visit FederalDaily.com

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
nattycakes  
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2009 12:31:48 PM(UTC)
nattycakes

Groups: Registered

Hey everyone, I'm still fairly new (and very confused) by how federal hiring works, so I was wondering if anyone has any good advice.

I've been working for a federal agency for almost 2 years now in a temporary/term position and am currently a GS-9 step 2. I just received a tentative offer from another agency for a permanent GS-9/13 position. So, here are my initial questions:

1) Does leave transfer (sick and annual)? I vaguely remember something about one transferring or being paid out and not the other, but that might be if you move to the private sector.

2) I have been planning a 2-week trip in late July for a while, and have paid nonrefundable deposits (I wasn't expecting to hear back so soon). Is it unreasonable to ask for a start date after this trip? I just feel odd starting a new job and then saying "see ya in 2 weeks", or worse, losing $1500.

3) In my current position, I got a promotion to a GS-9 from GS-7 last August, and am due for another promotion to a GS-11 in August. The tentative offer is for a GS-9, since that's the position I am currently qualified for. Is there any way to negotiate a grade or step promotion? What's the best way of going about this?

Thanks for any advice!
Fonz