Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Career Planning and Development

Are you looking to get promoted?
Maybe a change in your federal career?
Need tips on resume writing to land a federal job?
Or how to increase your salary or get a pay raise?

Join this active discussion with others climbing the same challenging career ladder.

Consider ordering some helpful resources or read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues by visiting FederalDaily.com.

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
HappyVet  
#1 Posted : Saturday, December 19, 2009 11:30:30 AM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

I have a question regarding promotions and pay-raise requirements. I’m pretty new in position and am a bit confused. Seems like I read somewhere that you have to have a year in position before you can get a pay increase. I’m assuming this does not apply to promotions to a new position, but I’m not sure.

Let’s say you’re a GS 7 with less than a year in the position. Let’s also say you have an opportunity to apply for a GS 9 position. If you got the job, would you receive GS 9 pay immediately, or would you continue at the GS 7 rate until you completed a full year?

Thanks,

HappyVet

tucker515  
#2 Posted : Saturday, December 19, 2009 1:10:10 PM(UTC)

The answer is it depends. First of all you have to be qualified for the GS-9 position. Let's assume that you are based on either education or non-Federal experience. For a job that is a "two grade" interval position, for a GS-9, you need one year of experience at the GS-7 level (or equivalent) so you could not qualify based soley on your Federal experience.