Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Federal Employee

Are you thinking of becoming a federal employee? Or, perhaps you have recently joined the federal workplace. Here is a forum to share experience and ask for insight for those already a member of the largest employer in the USA.

To read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues visit FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
jackbauer24  
#1 Posted : Monday, February 22, 2010 7:57:32 AM(UTC)
jackbauer24

Groups: Registered

I graduated from college (4 year college) in December 2005 and I've been trying ever since to find a decent, full time job ever since.

Can anyone tell me the best way of applying for entry level jobs on usajobs.gov? Even though I have a B.S. in IT, I will do any other job avaiable and I will move ANYWHERE!  I can start within 20 days.

Mostly looking at assistant/office type jobs and management as well.

Hope someone can help. Don't know what else to do anymore.

LOL

jackbauer24  
#2 Posted : Monday, February 22, 2010 8:01:43 AM(UTC)
jackbauer24

I also forgot to add one more thing.

I also hear the "We are looking for someone with more experience" excuse.  How can I get/gain experience if I can't get a job? I really don't get that. I have a solid work history.

WannaWork  
#3 Posted : Monday, February 22, 2010 8:33:42 AM(UTC)
WannaWork

I think it's all about how you answer the KSA.  Entry level jobs are very hard to get at this point, as many people (including vet who gets preference points) are applying.

I think most KSA questions for entry level jobs are multiple questions.  Those can be hard to answer if you don't have direct experience.  I have better luck on answering higher level work, since they allow you to write essays.

To gain more experience, you can volunteer.  It sucks since it doesn't pay, but it can be a lot of fun, too.