Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Information Security

Information security can mean protecting information and information systems from unauthorized access, use, disclosure, disruption, modification or destruction. This goes beyond just computers and networks. Risks and threats can come from individuals, acts of nature, and new technology.

This topic affects everyone in the federal workforce - top to bottom. Thus, it is also the responsibility of everyone in the federal workforce to protect the information from threats.

Share your experience with securing information.

7 Pages123>»
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Greg  
#1 Posted : Sunday, May 16, 2010 4:36:57 AM(UTC)
mrgregory29

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I just recently got my AS in Computer Science. I'm trying to figure out a good program for me to go into for my BA/BS cause i'm not good at programming at all and I want to do more with Net Security/Cyber Security, databases, etc. I'm about to take the A+ certification test in a few weeks. I'm just trying to get my foot in the door. The jobs are really limited where i'm at currently. My wife is stationed at a base that's in the middle of nowhere. Any suggestions or pointers would be greatly appreciated.
Shannon Mossman  
#2 Posted : Sunday, May 16, 2010 5:27:17 AM(UTC)
Reboot

DoD requires a minimum of A+ for Information Assurance Technician I (IAT-I) with different professional certifications required for different levels.  As far as I know, they are the only government entity requiring certifications.  You can Google for a copy of the DoD Directive 8570 for details.  The CompTIA Security+ is a good certification, and even better is the (ISC)2 Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP).