Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
AnalyzeThis  
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 11:17:44 AM(UTC)
AnalyzeThis

Groups: Registered

Thanks in advance to any responses received.

Background:  I'm fairly new to the civil service, going on four years now, so I'm trying to understand if I have a valid concern or do I just need to suck it up... 

Prior to NSPS transition I was a GS-11 Step 2 and converted to YA-02.  About 2 years ago I transferred to a new command, accepting a 5% pay increase and was placed into a newly created NSPS YA-02 position.  I've had one 4.0 performance evaluation and was awarded a time off award on top of my performance award...   The PD for this new position was very vague and since my arrival I've taken on significant more duties and responsibilities that have increased both my workload and scope. 

Now upon GS transition my supervisor was asked if my NSPS PD was still valid or does it require update, in which it did require update to annotate my new duties and responsibilities, so we update the PD, annotating a 40% - 50% increase in duties and responsibilities to include an increase in scope, and removed nothing.. only adding duties.

My question is, shouldn't I be compensated for this additional 40-50% accretion of duties?  I received my transition letter explaining that I will transition back as a GS-11, and since my pay is between steps I will be promoted to the next higher step, which results in a 2% pay increase ($1,400.00) a year.   Should I be satisfied with this outcome?  Because I don't feel very satisfied at the moment.  

My supervisor now tells me that he should have re-wrote my PD a year ago to account for this accretion of duties; and the 2nd in command tells me that no accretion of duties are being considered under GS transition.... which is a lie, since my supervisor was promoted from GS-12 to GS-13.