Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Employees: You be the Judge

Get real-life reviews of key court cases involving federal employees. Share your opinion on the outcomes of these cases, or participate in other discussions about workplace issues that may impact your job.

Be civil when debating with others in the forum. Uncivil remarks toward any other forum member is prohibited on FederalSoup and should be reported immediately.

To read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues visit FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
CarLaC  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2009 5:18:11 AM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

I work in a hospital in the Same Day Surgery/Recovery Room. During the holidays the operating rooms were closed except for emergencies due to construction, which meant the area where I work had nothing to do. I took leave to have surgery during the holidays but some of my co-workers took LWOP rather than going to work in another part of the hospital during this time. These employees would still be working as a nurse no matter where they worked in the hospital and the union agreement states that the employee can be floated anywhere within the hospital that they are qualified to work on an intermittent as needed basis. We have a nursing shortage so there is always a need, there isn't always the ability to help out another area.

The >30 day reassignment thing doesn't apply here because we were only closed for two weeks. I probably would have been assigned to work in the emergency room as I am also a Certified Emergency Nurse.

#1 Should the union have been notified prior to the temporary closure? Which didn't happen.

#2 Is the supervisor at fault for approving the LWOP? I thought LWOP was only for emergency issues or other very specific instances.