Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Postal Employees

Post your thoughts and opinions here about current Postal employee topics.

5 Pages123>»
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Beppo  
#1 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 10:47:21 PM(UTC)
Beppo

Groups: Registered

Hi folks. I've been working for the post office for about 2 years now, first as a Casual Mailhandler for 6 months, then switched to being a Casual Clerk, and then when the PSE positions came up, I applied for and got hired as a PSE.
I had to change locations, going from a relatively low-stress job at the AFSM 100 and the SPBS to the fast-paced DBCS. It was a bit of a shock, but after a few weeks I caught on and pretty much got up to speed. At first things seemed great, going from $8/hr to $14.60/hr almost doubled my paycheck, even with reduced hours. Then of course there's the "possibility" of benefits after a year, there's also the fact that we have 4 career clerks at my facility who are either retiring or changing crafts within the next few months, which a supervisor told us supposedly means that the first of the PSEs to get hired (of which I am one) might be able to fill their slots and become Regulars. Yeah, things seemed great, at first...
The problem now is, literally EVERY SINGLE DAY we are reminded by our supervisors that we are still on our 90-day probation and can get fired at any time. There are about 20 PSEs on my tour and about half of us always have a "post-game" session in the parking lot after work to see who screwed up the most (according to the supervisors). There is a bit of gallows humor to it but the one experience we all seem to share is that either as a group or individually, we are reminded at least once EVERY SINGLE DAY that we are all just one step away from getting fired.

What the f ck kind of sh t is that??