Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Career Planning and Development

Are you looking to get promoted?
Maybe a change in your federal career?
Need tips on resume writing to land a federal job?
Or how to increase your salary or get a pay raise?

Join this active discussion with others climbing the same challenging career ladder.

Consider ordering some helpful resources or read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues by visiting FederalDaily.com.

149 Pages123>»
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
PJ612  
#1 Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2007 5:37:56 AM(UTC)
PJ612

Groups: Registered

Greetings,

I am looking into the JO program at USAID. I have a BA degree in International Relations, served in the Army for 6 years, was a Peace Corps Volunteer for 3 years and am now finishing up my Master of Public Administration degree. For the past 5 years, I have worked for philanthropic organization that funds local social service agencies. I mention this because I think this experience would be transferable to USAID.

I am wondering if anyone has any information about how competitive acceptance into USAID is and if my skill set would be valued at that agency.

Any help would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Dennis123  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 08, 2008 6:12:12 AM(UTC)
Dennis123

Former GI,

First, I will be very honest with you, I’m envious. Your short description has many of the key words, Peace Corps experience (approximately 70% of AID are alumni), BS in IR and working on an MPA (also the right focus), and finally nonprofit experience (equivalent to the NGOs USAID works with internationally).