Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Postal Employees

Post your thoughts and opinions here about current Postal employee topics.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Used2b  
#1 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 9:33:39 AM(UTC)
Used2b

Rank: Advisor

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 108

As the USPS is posting the new CCA positions to the public, there are several tips I can give you based upon my experience with the hiring process. For background, I was a full time regular clerk who left USPS under circumstances unrelated to the job. I sought re-employment this year, and as there is no career hiring at this time, I applied for various non career positions. My experience with the new hiring process is detailed here. The process will vary depending on the installation and whether local services or HRSSC is handling the hires. I applied for both PSE clerk and TE carrier positions in both large and small installations within 50 miles of my location ( this is the Geographic area). Some installations had only one position authorized, others had up to 25. I took the 473e exam as part of the hiring process, scored 86.3. I have no veterans preference. I applied to postings in September through November. The PSE clerk positions required the 473 qualification. The TE positions did not require an exam. I was unable to determine just how the TE applicants were ranked, I do know that I was the only non-veteran in my TE interview group. (Postal experience maybe a factor?) More were female than male. For the TE position, I was interviewed in December, and only at the largest installation. (The one with 25 positions). Process was handled by local services. For the PSE register, which required test scores, I was called for interview by every installation within 30 miles. I had already been working as a PSE clerk for several weeks when I was interviewed for the TE carrier position. At the group interview which consisted of 90 applicants for TE and PSE positions, myself and several others who were current or former USPS employees were brought to another office where all of us were immediately hired. I was given a 5 day break and paid my annual leave before beginning my TE appointment. I also received an SF50 detailing termination to accept a TE carrier appointment, and another confirming that appointment. I will continue this in the next post.      
Used2b  
#2 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 9:47:59 AM(UTC)
Used2b

Rank: Advisor

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 108

When you are interviewed, there is a hiring worksheet that must be filled out. There are three categories- Highly Recommended, Recommended, and Not Recommended based upon your answers to certain questions, accompanied by a brief notation. Prior successful postal experience, without discipline on file, will automatically place you as "Highly Recommended". It's the first question on the list. Answers will be verified, so it's no good to lie. Your OPF file stays with you and your employee number stays the same. This is a difficult job and many of the new hires either cannot or will not do the job. A guy hired the same day as me, in my office, quit after one day training on the route I'm carrying now. (Park and Loop)! If current TE's score OK you will make the hiring list. If you have veteran's preference you will make the list sooner. I would suggest to those who score lower, or do not have veteran's preference, you may have to wait awhile for the interview, so plan ahead. The guy off the street may be interviewed before you, but when you do get an interview, you will most likely be hired. And you will have the seniority of your first appointment , as is clearly stated in the award and not open to interpretation.
smalltownpost  
#3 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 9:51:26 AM(UTC)
smalltownpost

Rank: Senior Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/2/2013(UTC)
Posts: 168

Thanks for sharing your experiences. Great insights!
Used2b  
#4 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 10:07:52 AM(UTC)
Used2b

Rank: Advisor

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 108

If it is a small office and being handled by Shared Services, the Postmaster will receive a list of names to interview. In that case, he would have to hire from that list unless the applicants were disqualified at the interview, or not hire at all, which would be unlikely. That said, I would think your chances of an interview at a small installation would be pretty good, considering there would PROBABLY not be very many qualified applicants even aware of the posting.
postalvet  
#5 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 10:14:35 AM(UTC)
postalvet

Rank: Senior Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 9/29/2009(UTC)
Posts: 5,344
Location: southern calif

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 6 post(s)
"whether local services or HRSSC is handling the hires."

sooner or later everything goes to shared services (HRSSC).
Retired postal worker of 38 years who is willing to help even though some do not want to hear the truth.
Used2b  
#6 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 10:39:09 AM(UTC)
Used2b

Rank: Advisor

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 108

postalvet wrote:
"whether local services or HRSSC is handling the hires."

sooner or later everything goes to shared services (HRSSC).

True, however, if the installation does not have it's own local hr office, everything is done through the postmaster or OIC of the installation, whereas in larger installations the interviews are conducted in the local HR office where specialists are available. It has been my experience that the level of knowledge of the processes varies widely among managers.
NECArrier  
#7 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 11:15:38 AM(UTC)
NECArrier

Rank: Senior Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/27/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,782

There are no "local HR offices".
Used2b  
#8 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 9:19:02 PM(UTC)
Used2b

Rank: Advisor

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 108

Maybe not where you are, however in my district we have HR Local Services. Anyone else have an HR office in your district?
postalvet  
#9 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 11:41:51 PM(UTC)
postalvet

Rank: Senior Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 9/29/2009(UTC)
Posts: 5,344
Location: southern calif

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 6 post(s)
below is each districts hr rep.
each rep works directly with shared services.


Area     District     Name     Address     Phone     eMail
Capital Metro     Area     Gandhi, Mangala     16501 Shady Grove Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20898-9998     301-548-1460     mangala.p.gandhi@usps.gov
Capital Metro     Atlanta     Lane, Douglas E.     1605 Boggs Rd, Rm 139, Duluth, GA 30026-9353     770-935-2295     douglas.e.lane@usps.gov
Capital Metro     Baltimore     Moore, Pat     900 E Fayette St, Rm 302, Baltimore, MD 21233-9994     410-347-4263     yverne.p.moore@usps.gov
Capital Metro     Capital     Ward, Susan     900 Brentwood Rd, NE, Washington, DC 20066-7601     202-636-1281     susan.d.ward@usps.gov
Capital Metro     Greater South Carolina     Johnson, Emmajean     PO Box 92994, Columbia, SC 29292-9994     803-926-6430     emmajean.a.johnson@usps.gov
Capital Metro     Greensboro     Mauren, Edward     PO Box 27499, Greensboro, NC 27498-9994     336-668-1321     edward.a.mauren@usps.gov
Capital Metro     Mid-Carolinas     Mills, David E.     2901 Scott Futrell Dr, Charlotte, NC 28228-9994     704-424-4460     david.e.mills@usps.gov
Capital Metro     Northern Virginia     Lingenfelser, Phyllis     8409 Lee Highway, Rm 202, Merrifield, VA 22081-9994     703-698-6371     phyllis.l.lingenfelser@usps.gov
Capital Metro     Richmond     Reeder, Judith     1801 Brook Rd, Richmond, VA 23232-9994     804-775-6187     judith.e.reeder@usps.gov
Eastern     Northern      Jordan, Lisa     5315 Campbells Run Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15277-7050     412-494-2515     lisa.m.jordan@usps.gov
Eastern     Appalachian     Hensley, W. Shane     PO Box 59994, Charleston, WV 25350-9994     304-561-1220     wshayne.hensley@usps.gov
Eastern     Central Pennsylvania     Kirchner, Barbara     1425 Crooked Hill Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17107-9994     717-257-2253     barbara.e.kirchner@usps.gov
Eastern     Cincinnati     Goebel, Steve     1591 Dalton St, Cincinnati, OH 45234-9994     513-684-5567     steve.p.goebel@usps.gov
Eastern     Kentuckiana     O Neal, Deborah     PO Box 31994, Louisville, KY 40231-9994     502-454-1610     doneal@usps.gov
Eastern     Northern Ohio     Dressler, Annette     2200 Orange Ave, Rm 106, Cleveland, OH 44101-9994     216-443-4231     annette.m.dressler@usps.gov
Eastern     Philadelphia Metro     Ridgway, Susan     3190 S 70th St, Philadelphia, PA 19153-9994     215-863-5034     susan.ridgway@usps.gov
Eastern     South Jersey     Keen, Andrew     PO Box 9001, Bellmawr, NJ 08099-9994     856-933-4268     andrew.m.keen@usps.gov
Eastern     Western New York     Tarzia, Mary     1200 William St, Buffalo, NY 14240-9994     716-846-2470     mary.a.tarzia@usps.gov
Eastern     Tennessee     Quick, Sandra     525 Royal Parkway, Nashville, TN 37229-9994     615-885-9260     sandra.k.quick@usps.gov
Eastern     Western Pennsylvania     Pawlowski, Ken     1001 California Ave, Rm 2100, Pittsburgh, PA 15290-9994     412-359-7688     kenneth.l.pawlowski@usps.gov
Great Lakes     Area     Israel, Rochelle     244 Knollwood Dr, FL 4, Bloomingdale, IL 60117-3000     630-539-4810     rochelle.d.israel@usps.gov
Great Lakes     Central Illinois     Shilney, David     6801 West 73rd St, Bedford, IL 60499-9994     708-563-7600     david.b.shilney@usps.gov
Great Lakes     Chicago     Miller, Carol     433 W Harrison St, Rm 40212A, Chicago, IL 60699-9994     312-983-8498     carol.miller@usps.gov
Great Lakes     Detroit     Ward, Lee     1401 W Fort St, Detroit, MI 48233-9994     313-226-8616     lee.r.ward@usps.gov
Great Lakes     Gateway     Meehan, Pam     1720 Market St, Rm 3021, St Louis, MO 63155-9994     314-436-3864     pamela.a.meehan@usps.gov
Great Lakes     Greater Indiana     Sparks, Dale     3939 Vincennes Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46298-9994     317-870-8511     dale.m.sparks@usps.gov
Great Lakes     Greater Michigan     Stoll, Brian     678 Front St, Grand Rapids, MI 49599-9994     616-336-5328     brian.t.stoll@usps.gov
Great Lakes     Lakeland     Odell, A. R. (Bob)     PO Box 5018, Milwauke, WI 53201-5018     414-287-1802     arthur.r.odell@usps.gov
Northeast     Area     Newman, Alice     6 Griffin Rd N, Windsor, CT 06006-7050     860-285-7050     alice.newman@usps.gov
Northeast     Albany     Behan, Maryrose     30 Karner Rd, Albany, NY 12288-9994     518-452-2413     maryrose.behan@usps.gov
Northeast     Greater Boston     Mailloux, Ann     25 Dorchester AVE, Rm 4003     617-654-5603     ann.mailloux@usps.gov
Northeast     Caribbean     Delgado, Juan     585 Franklin D. Roosevelt Ave, Ste 200     787-622-1821     juan.delgado@usps.gov
Northeast     Connecticut Valley     Bruso, Theresa     141 Weston St, Boston, MA 02205-9994     860-524-6114     theresa.t.bruso@usps.gov
Northeast     Long Island     Yamond, Stephen     PO Box 7400, Islandia, NY 11760-9994     631-582-7520     stephen.m.yamond@usps.gov
Northeast     New York     Duncan-Smith, Vanessa     380 W 33rd St, Rm 4042, New York, NY 10199-9994     212-330-2800     vanessa.duncan-smith@usps.gov
Northeast     Northern New England     Godlewski, John     151 Forest Ave, Ste 7050, Portland, ME 04101-7050     207-482-7150     john.t.godlewski@usps.gov
Northeast     Northern New Jersey     Reid, Keith     21 Kilmer Rd, Edison, NJ 08899-0001     732-819-3614     keith.l.reid@usps.gov
Northeast     Triboro     Rudy, David     1050 Forbell St, Rm 2015G, Brooklyn, NY 11256-9994     718-348-3822     david.h.rudy@usps.gov
Northeast     Westchester     Piasta, Stanley     1000 Westchester Ave, White Plains, NY 10610-9994     914-697-7151     stanley.j.piasta@usps.gov
Pacific     Area     Hambric, Rizza     11255 Rancho Carmel Dr, San Diego, CA 92197-4400     858-674-3180     rizza.l.hambric@usps.gov
Pacific     Bay-Valley     Aceituno, Florencia     1675 7th St, Oakland, CA 94615-9994     510-874-8510     florencia.m.aceituno@usps.gov
Pacific     Honolulu     Magazu, Dan     3600 Aoele St, Honolulu, HI 96820-3640     808-423-3712     daniel.p.magazu@usps.gov
Pacific     Los Angeles     Robinson, Kathryn     7001 S Central Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90052-9994     323-586-1300     kathryn.j.robinson@usps.gov
Pacific     Sacramento     Villalpando, Mark     3775 Industrial Blvd, West Sacramento, CA 95799-9994     916-373-8600     mark.villalpando@usps.gov
Area     District     Name     Address     Phone     eMail
Pacific     San Diego     Simon, Antoinette     11251 Rancho Carmel Dr, San Diego, CA 92199-9994     858-674-0409     antoinette.simon@usps.gov
Pacific     San Francisco     White, Harriet     PO Box 889013, San Francisco, CA 94188-9013     415-550-5543     harriet.j.white@usps.gov
Pacific     Santa Ana     Hansen, Patty     15421 Gale Ave, City of Industry, CA 91715-9341     626-855-6540     patty.a.hansen@usps.gov
Pacific     Sierra Coastal     Franco, Ramona     28201 Franklin Pkwy, Santa Clarita, CA 91383-9994     661-775-7000     ramona.franco@usps.gov
Southern     Area     Brown, Leonard     PO Box 225459, Dallas, TX 75222-5459     214-819-8660     leonard.l.brown@usps.gov
Southern     Alabama     Williams, Lorina     PO Box 126, Birmingham, AL 45201-0126     205-521-0205     lorina.v.williams@usps.gov
Southern     Arkansas     Clark, Seritia     420 Natural Resources Dr, Little Rock, AR 72205-9994     501-228-4240     seritia.l.clark@usps.gov
Southern     Dallas     Marshall, Squire     951 W Bethel Rd, Coppel, TX 75099-9994     972-393-6779     squire.j.marshall@usps.gov
Southern     Fort Worth     Cameron, Denise     4600 Mark IV Pkwy, Fort Worth, TX 76161-9400     817-317-3351     denise.a.cameron@usps.gov
Southern     Houston     Demery, Beverly     600 N Sam Houston Pkwy W, Houston, TX 77267-9997     713-226-3715     beverly.s.demery@usps.gov
Southern     Louisiana     Brown, Robert A.     701 Loyola Ave, Rm T-7003, New Orleans, LA 70113-9994     504-589-1372     robert.a.brown1@usps.gov
Southern     Mississippi     Jackson, Miranda     1461 Lakeover Rd, Jackson, MS 39213-8006     601-351-7250     miranda.f.jackson@usps.gov
Southern     North Florida     Morris, Sylvia     PO Box 40005, Jacksonville, FL 32203-0005     904-858-6551     sylvia.l.morris@usps.gov
Southern     Oklahoma     Dalton, Jeff     4025 W Reno Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73125-9994     405-815-2201     jeff.d.dalton@usps.gov
Southern     Rio Grande     Harris, Kathryn N     1 Post Office Dr, San Antonio, TX 78284-9994     210-368-1776     kathryn.n.harris@usps.gov
Southern     South Florida     Miller, Jann     1600 Pines Blvd, Pembroke Pines, FL 33082-9990     954-436-4422     jann.m.miller@usps.gov
Southern     Suncoast     Farrell, Judith     2203 N Lois Ave, Ste 1040, Tampa, FL 33607-7140     813-354-6098     judith.a.farrell@usps.gov
Western     Area     Storey, Simon     1745 Stout St, Ste 600, Denver, CO 80299-4000     303-313-5020     simon.storey@usps.gov
Western     Alaska     Ward, Robert     3270 Barrow St, Anchorage, AK 99599-9994     907-273-5831     robert.d.ward@usps.gov
Western     Arizona     Schwartz, William     4949 E Van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85026-9994     602-225-3200     william.schwartz2@usps.gov
Western     Central Plains     Barnard, Vicki     PO Box 199507, Omaha, NE 68119-9507     402-930-4481     vicki.a.barnard@usps.gov
Western     Colorado/Wyoming     Knight, David W.     7500 E 53rd Pl, Rm 2246, Denver, CO 80266-9994     303-853-6069     david.w.knight@usps.gov
Western     Dakotas     Clarkson, Robert     PO Box 7560, Sioux Falls, SD 57117-7560     605-333-2680     robert.t.clarkson@usps.gov
Western     Hawkeye     Ryan, Narisella     PO Box 189994, Des Moines, IA 50318-9994     515-251-2200     narisella.m.ryan@usps.gov
Western     Mid-America     Jones, Karen     3300 W Pershing Rd, Rm 217, Kansas City, MO 64108-9994     816-374-9310     karen.e.jones@usps.gov
Western     Nevada-Sierra     Miner, Patricia     1001 E Sunset RD, Las Vegas, NV 89199-9994     702-361-9333     pat.j.miner@usps.gov
Western     Northland     Gergen, Thomas P     100 S 1st St, Rm 415, Minneapolis, MN 55401-9994     612-349-4425     thomas.p.gergen@usps.gov
Western     Portland     Norbom, Mike     715 NW Hoyt St, Rm 2003, Portland, OR 97208-2089     503-294-2204     mike.a.norbom@usps.gov
Western     Salt Lake City     Taylor, Frank W     1760 West 2100 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84199-9994     801-974-2309     frank.taylor@usps.gov
Western     Seattle     Foster, Dan L.     34301 9th Ave S, Ste 215, Federal Way, WA 98003-7083     253-214-1710     dan.l.foster@usps.gov

postalvet2013-01-20 07:50:02
Retired postal worker of 38 years who is willing to help even though some do not want to hear the truth.
KingJaffe  
#10 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 11:43:51 PM(UTC)
KingJaffe

Rank: Senior Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/8/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,369

i thought they had closed the ny one down
CCA but not 4 long..lol
postalvet  
#11 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 11:46:33 PM(UTC)
postalvet

Rank: Senior Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 9/29/2009(UTC)
Posts: 5,344
Location: southern calif

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 6 post(s)
if you believe it is closed send them an email. just becaused a mail processing office closed the over head is still there some where.
Retired postal worker of 38 years who is willing to help even though some do not want to hear the truth.
Used2b  
#12 Posted : Sunday, January 20, 2013 9:39:03 AM(UTC)
Used2b

Rank: Advisor

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 108

Human Resources Shared Services
Combined Field User Guide
Human Resources Shared Services Field User Guide
Introduction
This guide provides a comprehensive reference to the common procedures used in the Human Capital Enterprise System (HCES). It includes step-by-step procedures, appropriate requests, references, and describes processes to accomplish Human Resources (HR) activities between District HR Local Services, Corporate Personnel Management, Field Managers and Human Resources Shared Service Center (HRSSC).
Purpose:
This guide is for those who have a need to conduct Human Resources activities in HCES via the HRSSC. It is noted that the HRSSC acts on instructions from Local Services, Corporate Personnel Management and Field Managers and plays no role as a gatekeeper.
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


This page was generated in 1.106 seconds.