Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Postal Employees

Post your thoughts and opinions here about current Postal employee topics.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
IrishExport  
#1 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 4:42:36 AM(UTC)
IrishExport

Groups: Registered

Hi, I’m a newbie and I apologise in advance for coming in here and immediately asking a million questions. I did the personality part of the Postal Service test yesterday and am due to take the 473 exam next Wednesday.

There were 3 open positions in my area (surprisingly – unemployment is very high here), and I applied for all three. The last one, though, is a CCA and as a tiny 5ft tall woman (already carrying extra lbs), I don’t know that I’d be able to hack the carrying.

Anyway, the other 2 were a PSE Post Office Clerk, and a PSE Sales & Svcs/Distribution Associate. The first is a grade 4, the second grade 6.

I’ve trawled through here looking for answers, but I think the situation might be a little different here as it is a rural sparsely populated area and the post offices are small. I saw someone post that a PO clerk was more mail processing – but there are no processing plants that I know of close by. The job descriptions put each job site as the local post office.

Enough of my babbling – here are the two job descriptions:

Job Title
PSE POST OFFICE CLERK

Facility Location
MOHAWK
25 COLUMBIA ST
MOHAWK, NY 13407-9998

Position Information
TITLE: PSE POST OFFICE CLERK
GRADE: - 4
FLSA DESIGNATION: Non-Exempt
OCCUPATION CODE: 2395-0016
NON-SCHEDULED DAYS: VARIABLE
HOURS: VARIABLE
SALARY RANGE: $12.63/hour
FINANCE NUMBER: 355390
BENEFIT INFORMATION: OPPORTUNITIES FOR RAISES, PAID VACATION DAYS AND ACCESS TO HEALTH INSURANCE AFTER THE FIRST 360-DAY TERM.

PSE CLERKS MAY BE REQUIRED TO WORK WINDOW OPERATIONS WITH EXTERNAL CUSTOMERS. CONTINUED EMPLOYMENT MAY BE CONTINGENT ON QUALIFYING ON APPROPIATE EXAMINATIONS.

Persons Eligible to Apply