Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Career Planning and Development

Are you looking to get promoted?
Maybe a change in your federal career?
Need tips on resume writing to land a federal job?
Or how to increase your salary or get a pay raise?

Join this active discussion with others climbing the same challenging career ladder.

Consider ordering some helpful resources or read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues by visiting FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
russ4h  
#1 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 1:03:25 AM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
I'm still relatively new with the Federal Government and I am currently in the competitive service with a GS rating. There is a strong chance that I could be offered a position under the excepted service with a GG rating.

From what I have read about the excepted service, it seems as though you can be fired with the same ease as the private sector and time spent at whatever grade in the excepted service does not count as experience if applying to a competitive service position (i.e. a year spent as a GG-11 would not qualify me for a GS-12 merit promotion position in the competitive service).

It basically seems like if I take the DCIPS excepted service position, I will limit my career mobility and I could pretty much only apply to other excepted service positions if I ever wanted to move around or change jobs.

Does anyone have any experience that they would mind sharing about DCIPS and excepted service positions and their ability to go back to the competitive service?russ4h2014-01-31 09:13:04
TotallyRetired  
#2 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:21:05 AM(UTC)

russ4h wrote: