Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Career Planning and Development

Are you looking to get promoted?
Maybe a change in your federal career?
Need tips on resume writing to land a federal job?
Or how to increase your salary or get a pay raise?

Join this active discussion with others climbing the same challenging career ladder.

Consider ordering some helpful resources or read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues by visiting FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
hurlinjoe  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 12:33:42 AM(UTC)
hurlinjoe

Groups: Registered

I am a WS-10/2 maintenance mechanic supervisor and lately I here talk about A 76 (contracting out), I am very concerned about this, so I’ve been applying for other jobs that are related to my PO in the GS pay schedule. I’ve been offered one that is perfect at GS11, but because I am in a different pay scale will they have to give me the same or increase the steps to match the salary that I get now as a WS-10 step 2. Or do I have to start at a GS11 step 1.
martyb  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 1:03:21 AM(UTC)
martyb

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I recently went from WG-11/5 to GS-11/2. I got a small raise of approx. $1000. You will most likely get whatever the step equivalent is that would give you at least a raise. From what I can tell, it seems that if you are going from the FWS system to GS, then the 2 step rule that applies to GS employees who are promoted within that system does not apply. Looks like any raise of any amount is the norm. May be some differences among agencies, I dunno. That's how it worked for me.
Forum trolls to 0%
HR Spec 5613  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 2:21:15 AM(UTC)
HR Spec 5613

I agree with martyb.