Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Career Planning and Development

Are you looking to get promoted?
Maybe a change in your federal career?
Need tips on resume writing to land a federal job?
Or how to increase your salary or get a pay raise?

Join this active discussion with others climbing the same challenging career ladder.

Consider ordering some helpful resources or read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues by visiting FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
jdc  
#1 Posted : Sunday, May 10, 2015 8:26:44 PM(UTC)
jdc

Groups: Registered
United States

I am currently a GS-5, I took a position because I was a student employee and they converted via the VRA to full time excepted service. I applied to a different position unrelated to my current one for status candidates using my military experience to qualify for the position and it is a GS-9.

I understand the VRA allows appointments up to a GS-11 as long as I qualify, but my question is since I was brought on as full time at a GS-5 will that prevent me from being eligible for positions I am qualified for(from military experience, not government) that are at higher grades?

There are threads out there with similar questions but non I have found address my current situation. Thank you all in advance.
nembamike  
#2 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 1:44:00 AM(UTC)

Was thanked: 222 time(s) in 200 post(s)
I think what will hurt you is you will not have the 1 year time in grade at the next lower grade for those positions.
FS0201  
#3 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 4:42:34 AM(UTC)
FS0201

Was thanked: 313 time(s) in 274 post(s)
Originally Posted by: jdc Go to Quoted Post