Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Subversive  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 7, 2017 11:38:32 AM(UTC)
Subversive

Groups: Registered
United States

So my career end goal is to get into intelligence or federal law enforcement. Thus far I am an intelligence analyst in the military as a reservist attached to a special warfare unit, I have not been in very long, only about 1 year, no deployments, yet. I possess a bachelor's degree in political science foreign affairs and a TS clearance.

Am I on the right track? What is my "marketability" at this point for either/or of the aforementioned career fields? I realize that I am relatively light on the experience. But what agencies would I have a fighting chance at securing an entry level position?

I am presently unemployed right now, and am waiting on a job working as a foreign risk analyst for a private company. However that is still a maybe. Barring that I most certainly will want to shift into law enforcement as that appears the only route to me in the civilian sector that I can break into easily and pay the bills.

Any advice? Thanks all.
sig_23  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 7, 2017 11:47:13 AM(UTC)
sig_23

Was thanked: 25 time(s) in 18 post(s)
I would say having a bachelor's degree, a TS clearance, and a military background fits the bill. I would just apply to a bunch and see which ones pick you up. A lot of them have LEO positions, one that comes to mind is the DIA
frankgonzalez  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 7, 2017 12:24:29 PM(UTC)
frankgonzalez

Was thanked: 988 time(s) in 785 post(s)
DHS components (USCG, TSA, Secret Service, etc) all have intel sections.
You should have voted Cthulu...the greatest of all Evils
cyber_ninja  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 4:22:41 PM(UTC)
cyber_ninja

United States

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 5 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Subversive Go to Quoted Post