Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Federal Employee

Are you thinking of becoming a federal employee? Or, perhaps you have recently joined the federal workplace. Here is a forum to share experience and ask for insight for those already a member of the largest employer in the USA.

To read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues visit FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
jibit3  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 12, 2017 8:09:36 AM(UTC)
jibit3

Groups: Registered
United States

I am a Licensed Architect trying to be hired by federal government.
It seems federal jobs for my field are very few and even fewer are open to the public.

01) What is the best path for a Licensed Architect to get his foot in the door?

02) Are there jobs in other fields (like engineering) that I should apply?

03) Most positions listed on USAjobs that I have applied for have "Open & closing dates" (2016-11-14 to 2017-11-13) shy of a year and "1 Vacancy" in over "70 Locations". Any clues or guesses as to the hiring process for these types of jobs?

04) When is a good time to check on my job application status with the government?

Thank you in advance for all your wisdom and knowledge.
I'm open to any advice you all have and more then grateful for it.
Beam Reach  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 12, 2017 11:19:52 AM(UTC)
Beam Reach

Was thanked: 15 time(s) in 13 post(s)
The more flexible you can be, the more opportunities will be open to you. If you are not tied to a particular geographic area that opens up a lot of jobs. I think the biggest issue might be the entry level positions are GS-09 to GS-11/12's, I even saw some GS-05-07 positions.