Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Department of Interior

The U.S. Department of the Interior protects America’s natural resources and heritage, honors our cultures and tribal communities and supplies the energy to power our future.

The agency employs about 70,000 people in approximately 2,400 locations with offices across the United States, Puerto Rico, U.S. Territories and Freely Associated States.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
0018 Hopeful  
#1 Posted : Sunday, September 24, 2017 10:51:42 AM(UTC)
0018 Hopeful

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 36 time(s) in 32 post(s)
Kind of longing for more remote and solitude kind of life. I was a police officer in Barrow Alaska years ago, and grew up remote in the Northern Rockies.

I see interior jobs all the time in remote places in the West.

Do people actually get hired for these or are they just posted, every time I apply (even for jobs in my series) I usually get referred but never get an interview. I think I have had one interview and one job offer with Interior in 5 years of apply for jobs. I work for Defense, in a series that exist in interior.

I have a bachelors in wildlife management from an online university. I never apply for wildlife management jobs in interior as I don't want to take a pay cut based on experience down to GS-7 or GS-9. Maybe as an in-agency hire from interior safety it would be different.

I am starting a Wildlife Management masters program in the spring. My series is GS-0018 Occupational Safety and Health. I'd be happy to stay safety and eventually work in a natural resources fashion.

Is it outrageous to expect to start as a GS-11 or GS-12 when I have been that pay grade in Safety with Defense?