Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Workers' Compensation

The Office of Workers' Compensation Programs administers four major disability compensation programs which provide wage replacement benefits, medical treatment, vocational rehabilitation and other benefits to certain workers or their dependents who experience work-related injury or occupational disease.

Here is a forum for members to share and exchange experiences regarding to workers' compensation related issues.

To read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues visit FederalDaily.com.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
gama  
#1 Posted : Saturday, January 27, 2018 9:58:40 AM(UTC)
gama

Groups: Registered
United States

As a federal employee and first responder on 9/11, I now find myself with cancer. I have been being screened by the WTC medical people for the last 7 years with no big issues. Now that cancer has surfaced and it has been accepted/certified as a result of 9/1, I would like to know if I am eligible for a workmans compensation award. I am able to work at this time but plan on retiring in 6 months. My claim will be supported medically but I am not sure how OWCP treats tests types of claims. PS I am aware of attorneys ability to sue under the Zgroda Bill, but what about OWCP?

Thanks in advance.....
edalder  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 6, 2018 3:34:37 PM(UTC)

Was thanked: 192 time(s) in 167 post(s)
Essentially, the cancer likely will have to affect an organ that is eligible for a scheduled award since your cancer condition does not appear to affect your ability to work at your usual Federal job. Since the cancer was only recently diagnosed, you are well within the statute of limitations for filing a claim with OWCP.