Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Federal Employee

Are you thinking of becoming a federal employee? Or, perhaps you have recently joined the federal workplace. Here is a forum to share experience and ask for insight for those already a member of the largest employer in the USA.

To read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues visit FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Jake1000  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 3:31:49 PM(UTC)
Jake1000

Rank: Senior Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 286

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I’ve read a few posts on here about people getting hired without an interview?
From posts I’ve read: Applied, referred, offer & start date.
How is that even possible? Especially being very competitive these days. Unless the job announcement is specifically for a particular individual.

I thought “First impression” was everything? Weather it’s a phone interview or in person.
It’s like buying a house on the Internet without seeing it or asking questions about it, lol.

Edited by user Tuesday, November 06, 2018 3:33:57 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Endless Summer  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 3:41:47 PM(UTC)
Endless Summer

Rank: Senior Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/7/2016(UTC)
Posts: 456

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 99 time(s) in 89 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jake1000 Go to Quoted Post
I’ve read a few posts on here about people getting hired without an interview?
From posts I’ve read: Applied, referred, offer & start date.
How is that even possible? Especially being very competitive these days. Unless the job announcement is specifically for a particular individual.

I thought “First impression” was everything? Weather it’s a phone interview or in person.
It’s like buying a house on the Internet without seeing it or asking questions about it, lol.


I don't think it's a good idea but I can see how it might happen. It could be that the leading candidate is already known to the HO, or there are a dozen other possible explanations.

It does seem like a sloppy, lazy way to go about it.
FatHappyCat  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 6:01:35 PM(UTC)

Rank: Senior Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/9/2011(UTC)
Posts: 606

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 90 time(s) in 77 post(s)
Could be a number of reasons: PPP, hiring through one of the non-competitive means, only one qualified candidate, etc.
nembamike  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2018 4:04:02 AM(UTC)

Rank: Senior Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/22/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,145

Was thanked: 193 time(s) in 173 post(s)
Its happened to me several times.
DaVinci95  
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2018 5:05:51 AM(UTC)
DaVinci95

Rank: Advisor

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/4/2014(UTC)
Posts: 174
United States

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 42 time(s) in 41 post(s)
It's happened to me twice (not including PPP). The first time was for a term appointment in Afghanistan. The second was in Japan after they had a hiring freeze. In both cases they were desperate to put bodies in seats.

I also did it once as a selecting official. I had two openings and only two qualified candidates on the cert, so I selected both of them just off their resumes.
djp  
#6 Posted : Thursday, November 08, 2018 10:19:33 AM(UTC)

Rank: Senior Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/11/2013(UTC)
Posts: 705

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 98 time(s) in 96 post(s)
I have had it happen multiple times.

If you are applying to jobs in certain areas that don't have many applicants in a highly specialized/positive education required field you can have situations where only 1-2 applicants even get through the first round. If you are already inside the federal government they would have access to other info about you through HR so they can hire you without interview.
Sean2015  
#7 Posted : Thursday, November 08, 2018 11:44:26 AM(UTC)
Sean2015

Rank: Groupie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/2/2013(UTC)
Posts: 75

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Happened to me some years ago when I became an 1102(Contract Specialist). The announcement was for a "Recent Grad" position and was only open for a day. Applied for the position in October. Offered the job in January and started in March. At the time I was a GS-11 in the 2010 series (Inventory Management Specialist). They paid my relocation costs (PCS)so that was definitely a blessing. About 7 people were hired from that announcement. It happens quite often depending on the job series. I know 1102s who didn't have to interview for GS-13 positions.
Frogger  
#8 Posted : Friday, November 09, 2018 4:59:10 AM(UTC)
Frogger

Rank: Senior Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/1/2017(UTC)
Posts: 348
United States
Location: Ohio

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 108 time(s) in 90 post(s)
Yes, I have seen people hired into 1102 positions that were targeted GS13. The problem was that they did become GS13s long before they were ready, and couldn’t pass warrant boards, and got demoted.
Endless Summer  
#9 Posted : Friday, November 09, 2018 7:17:35 AM(UTC)
Endless Summer

Rank: Senior Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/7/2016(UTC)
Posts: 456

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 99 time(s) in 89 post(s)
I'm hoping that it happens to me... I've applied for a position at my old agency, I'd applied and interviewed for it when I worked for them and was offered the job but had to turn it down. they all know me and I'm hoping to get an offer.
LowKeyOG  
#10 Posted : Friday, November 09, 2018 12:05:28 PM(UTC)
LowKeyOG

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/24/2016(UTC)
Posts: 4
United States

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 1 post(s)
It happens. I applied to a GS-14 and got it with no interview.
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


This page was generated in 0.423 seconds.