Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Career Planning and Development

Are you looking to get promoted?
Maybe a change in your federal career?
Need tips on resume writing to land a federal job?
Or how to increase your salary or get a pay raise?

Join this active discussion with others climbing the same challenging career ladder.

Consider ordering some helpful resources or read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues by visiting FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Swiper  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2018 6:32:15 PM(UTC)
Swiper

Groups: Registered

I work as a legal assistant for federal agency. My current job is a GS-5/6/7/8 position and I started off as a GS-8 at the beginning of the year. I am the only person in a "two-man team" so I am effectively doing the work of two GS-8 all by myself. Despite the heavy workload, I am able to perform all tasks above and beyond the standard. I just had my first performance evaluation and got "Outstanding" in every single block.

The agency is currently reconstructing the positions to provide for better career ladder advancement. The two identical legal assistant positions are becoming a "junior legal assistant" (GS-5/6/7/8) and a "senior legal assistant" (GS-9/11/12). Instead of having both employees sharing and doing the same work equally, there will now a distinct difference in duties within the team. The "junior legal assistant" can only temporary be assigned to do the tasks belonging to the "senior legal assistant" and vice versa.