Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Career Planning and Development

Are you looking to get promoted?
Maybe a change in your federal career?
Need tips on resume writing to land a federal job?
Or how to increase your salary or get a pay raise?

Join this active discussion with others climbing the same challenging career ladder.

Consider ordering some helpful resources or read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues by visiting FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
gsquared  
#1 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2019 6:04:26 PM(UTC)
gsquared

Groups: Registered
United States

Good Evening,

So I'm a 3 year veteran of federal service. I worked as a GS-11 for the VA for 2.5 years and now as a GS-12 for the DOD. I'm a social worker, so I have a master's degree and a clinical license. My goal, is to eventually move out of this area in 3 or 4 years. If I stuck with the DOD then I'd stay at a GS-12, but if I go back to the VA, I can now apply for GS-13 jobs. However, those positions are as a supervisor or program manager.

I want to set myself up as the best candidate, which shouldn't be hard as I led staff meetings at my outpatient clinic in the VA and I've been helping to revamp the mental health curriculum on my post, but I have no program management experience. Wouldn't it be prudent to get a certificate in program or project management to show prospective jobs that I'm qualified for program management? From what I've been reading, TIG > certificates. If that's so, then I guess I would get on the job supervision or training about how to manage a program?

Any help would be much appreciated. I've searched for this particular question, but haven't been able to find my answer.
djp  
#2 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2019 9:13:57 AM(UTC)

Was thanked: 123 time(s) in 120 post(s)