Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Retirement Planning

Whether you are close to federal employee retirement or just starting out in your career, this is the place to share ideas with your federal colleagues on creating a secure financial foundation.

To read today's top news stories on federal employee related news visit FederalDaily.com.

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Matrix  
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2019 9:38:40 AM(UTC)
Matrix

Groups: Registered
Man

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I'm a 30 year old GS-12 and have been giving serious thought to the idea of retirement, perhaps 45. I'm a veteran and would have retired in 7 years. Being federal now, I have another 27. It seems like I could use my TSP to ride out the 12 years until I start collecting a pension. I could also even convert that to an annuity, which to my knowledge, does not get the 10% penalty.

Is it unrealistic to live 12 years, with everything already paid off (home, cars, credit cards) out of a TSP?

What would you do in my situation?
10years2retire  
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2019 10:38:24 AM(UTC)
10years2retire

United States

Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Matrix Go to Quoted Post
I'm a 30 year old GS-12 and have been giving serious thought to the idea of retirement, perhaps 45. I'm a veteran and would have retired in 7 years. Being federal now, I have another 27. It seems like I could use my TSP to ride out the 12 years until I start collecting a pension. I could also even convert that to an annuity, which to my knowledge, does not get the 10% penalty.

Is it unrealistic to live 12 years, with everything already paid off (home, cars, credit cards) out of a TSP?