Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Career Planning and Development

Are you looking to get promoted?
Maybe a change in your federal career?
Need tips on resume writing to land a federal job?
Or how to increase your salary or get a pay raise?

Join this active discussion with others climbing the same challenging career ladder.

Consider ordering some helpful resources or read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues by visiting FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
jeffreys  
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2020 5:10:15 AM(UTC)
jeffreys

Groups: Registered
United States

Hi,
I'm in my second year as a govt employee for the Forest Service and my supervisor is just now creating a Performance Plan. My question is this: is there anything I should know about this that I can use for my benefit? I looked it over, have not signed yet. It feels like a contract, though loosely worded meaning at the end of the year some measures could easily be interpreted subjectively. What should I be weary of?

If I see anything that seems unrealistic, can I push for an edit?

More to this story: We have a temporary hire with my team for the season, who was hired at 2 full GS paygrades above me. He's unskilled & inexperienced, and often I'm the one training him taking on additional responsibility which irks me to no end. It was mentioned to me that I can use the Performance Plan somehow to show light on this arrangement in a way that benefits me. I'm not sure I understand what that means.

Any suggestions or help on this would be great. Thanks!

DaVinci95  
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2020 6:25:39 AM(UTC)
DaVinci95

United States

Was thanked: 77 time(s) in 72 post(s)