Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Career Planning and Development

Are you looking to get promoted?
Maybe a change in your federal career?
Need tips on resume writing to land a federal job?
Or how to increase your salary or get a pay raise?

Join this active discussion with others climbing the same challenging career ladder.

Consider ordering some helpful resources or read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues by visiting FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
jmep  
#1 Posted : Saturday, February 8, 2020 6:41:01 AM(UTC)
jmep

Groups: Registered
United States

Hi - I'm new to the forum and I tried to find the answer or some advice on what to do / how to do it. I have a masters of science degree in computer information systems (engineering school) and have 30 years experience in IT. I have wanted to work in the federal sector since I worked as a federal contractor at Kennedy Space Center. I finally got an interview after years of applying and took the position - a GS 13/10. I realized shortly after I joined that my work in the private sector was way above the position's experience level. What's worse is my IT experience isn't really being utilized and I am answering to people who have significantly less experience and credentials than I do. I have been applying to GS 14 and 15, but the 13/10 gets me kicked out or referred with no further activity; or again, not selected (not even an interview, etc.). I have decided to hire a professional writer to help me with my resume and would like to apply to SES or SL positions. Am I wasting my time and money?