Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Department of Interior

The U.S. Department of the Interior protects America’s natural resources and heritage, honors our cultures and tribal communities and supplies the energy to power our future.

The agency employs about 70,000 people in approximately 2,400 locations with offices across the United States, Puerto Rico, U.S. Territories and Freely Associated States.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
swgeezer  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 2, 2021 10:28:08 AM(UTC)
swgeezer

Groups: Registered

I've been trying to get a job back where I grew up, and I saw this position that would be a promotion with my current bureau and located just 25 minutes from my parent's house. I'm a disabled Iraq war vet, I guess I'm used to getting interviewed for any job I'm qualified for.

I thought I would at least get interviewed for this. I actually applied for two positions with that same region, two different office locations but the same region. I don't understand, why wouldn't they even want to interview me? I feel like maybe my boss told them not to hire me, or maybe I have a reputation and they don't want to work with me. I really love my bureau and that is the one place where I could work close to home, and they didn't really consider me.

Do people sue for stuff like this? I really like my bureau but now I'm not so sure. I do have some disabilities, and some regions are less friendly toward vets than others, and my thinking is that my boss told them about those things, and so they didn't even interview me.

Thanks in advance, I didn't think this would happen and now I'm kinda overcome with emotion.
frankgonzalez  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 2, 2021 1:17:35 PM(UTC)
frankgonzalez

Was thanked: 1136 time(s) in 906 post(s)
Originally Posted by: swgeezer Go to Quoted Post