Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Career Planning and Development

Are you looking to get promoted?
Maybe a change in your federal career?
Need tips on resume writing to land a federal job?
Or how to increase your salary or get a pay raise?

Join this active discussion with others climbing the same challenging career ladder.

Consider ordering some helpful resources or read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues by visiting FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
RioBravo  
#1 Posted : Friday, October 8, 2021 1:43:35 PM(UTC)
RioBravo

Groups: Registered
United States

Here’s my situation:

I was a prior AF officer, separated as a Captain (O-3) and spent 2 years on the private side (where my salary was that of GS-12/Step 10 or lower/mid-level GS-13).

I recently was hired as a GS-12, in a section that I used to be in charge of (along with a civilian GS-13, whom I actually hired) when I was in uniform. That GS-13 position is now being advertised and I want to apply. Logic tells me that I am qualified because

1) I used to be in charge of the section during my officer time, running it along with my GS-13 counterpart;
2) I was hired as a GS-12/Step 5, which indicates to me that I have a certain level of experience at a GS-12 level (i.e. more than 1 year);
3) My pay grade/responsibility level during my private sector time equates to that of a GS-13;

I really want this job, as I think I am well qualified. However, I am nervous that HR will disqualify me because I am currently a GS-12 with <52 weeks. How can I navigate this to make sure I make the cert list? I feel confident that if I can make the list, that I have a good shot at the job. Again, I’m just nervous HR will look at my current time in federal service and throw out my application.

Any advice is appreciated!
FatHappyCat