Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Federal Career Planning and Development

Are you looking to get promoted?
Maybe a change in your federal career?
Need tips on resume writing to land a federal job?
Or how to increase your salary or get a pay raise?

Join this active discussion with others climbing the same challenging career ladder.

Consider ordering some helpful resources or read today's top news stories on federal employee pay, benefits, retirement, job rights and other workplace issues by visiting FederalDaily.com.

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Travis  
#1 Posted : Monday, November 1, 2021 4:09:11 PM(UTC)
Travis

Groups: Registered
United States

Hi All,

First post here. I am a nurse at an IHS facility, have fulfilled almost 1 year as GS10 step 10 position (nurse in emergency room). The case manager resigned back in Feb, I happen to be certified with 5 yrs experience in case management and still able to work on the floor with 10+ years of ER experience. I.e., I'm a good fit for the job and what the department needs and my supervisor wants me to remain in the position. The case management position was left vacant in Feb as said. I have been working as the interim case manager since 2/16/21. This is a GS11 position (again, I'm currently GS10 step 10). I have applied for the position 4 times now since Feb. The first three times, I have been denied based on Indian Preference. I.e., my application never makes it past HR. This time, the position closed on 10/29/21 and I haven't heard the results of that yet, but suspect it will be the same.

My question: are there any particular rules or regulations that govern how long an employee can work in a higher GS position without getting paid?? I spoke briefly with the EEO officer here and she mentioned something about 6 months?? Where would I look for the policy, if there is one?

Thanks!
Travis
frankgonzalez